Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Finally…a cool autumn day!  The heat and humidity here has been unrelenting for over seven months now, but this morning I stepped outside into a very different world.  The wind chimes were playing in the cool breeze as the dry leaves swirled and tumbled to the ground.

 Ah! October!  My favorite month.

My small cottage garden seemed happier with this weather, as well.

The dinosaur kale was much perkier than it was yesterday in the high temps.  There’s also Russian Red and Scotch kale growing in the garden, this is their second season and I plan on collecting seed from them next year.

100_7278

The Mexican sunflowers are still blooming profusely,

100_7103

they are some of the most tenacious flowers I have ever grown, and the bees, butterflies, and hummingbirds absolutely love them.

100_5997

100_5991

100_6053

The goldenrod and other wildflowers are also attracting some lovely visitors,

100_6161

I’m not sure what kind of moth this is, but it is beautiful!

100_6158

The sasanqua camellias are loaded with blooms,

100_7280

I’ll have to get some better pictures of these later, as the sun was already too bright when I took this one.

My potted bell pepper is still producing, as it really prefers the hot weather,

100_7277

and the Confederate Roses are in full bloom, as well…

100_7112

the beauty of God’s creation never fails to fill my heart with wonder and praise!

spotlight

Here, a lovely butterfly bush…

100_7239

this is my first year to grow one of these plants, and I am loving it,

100_7237

the flowers really do look like tiny butterflies, and make a sweet addition to the cottage garden.

I have been working outside all day, enjoying this beautiful weather,

100_7099

and I could almost live outdoors, now that October is finally behaving as it should.

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”

**********

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven. ~ Ecclesiastes 3:1

