Tags

, , ,

Well, here it is…the start of a brand new year, for the world in general and for me, in particular, as I will be sixty-one years old in a couple of days.

100_3299

I don’t make New Year’s resolutions any more, but I do want to start this new year of my life by remembering God’s faithfulness to me and my family this past year…and by blessing Him with my gratitude and praise.

In Psalm 103 we are exhorted to bless the Lord and to remember (forget not) all His benefits.

In verses 1-5 we read:

Bless the Lord, O my soul; And all that is within me, bless His holy name! 

 Bless the Lord, O my soul,
And forget not all His benefits:

Who forgives all your iniquities,
Who heals all your diseases,

Who redeems your life from destruction,
Who crowns you with loving-kindness and tender mercies,

 Who satisfies your mouth with good things,
So that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.

*******

* For more encouragement you can read this Psalm in its entirety here…

 Psalm 103

100_7218

Salvation, healing, deliverance, being crowned with loving-kindness and tender mercies, and our youth renewed…these are truly wonderful benefits!

Yet, there are even more, for daily He loads us with benefits ~ Psalm 68:19

and here are just a few of the benefits for which I am thankful for:

100_2994

The Blessing of Family ~

For the time I still have with my elderly mother, and time spent with my husband and our son and his family.

For all our precious grandchildren, near and far…how I love their dear faces and the sound of their sweet voices and infectious laughter. They are truly beautiful souls!

There is nothing so pure and true as the love of a child, and I am forever grateful to have their love, and to be their Nana.

(Painting by Artist Frederick Morgan)

The Blessing of Home ~

I am so grateful for our home, it is our haven here on this earth…and I love being greeted by the morning sunlight as I pour myself a big mug of coffee to start the day.

100_7256

I’m also thankful that I can get out of bed each morning to take care of our home.  When I was a child, I was in an accident that injured my lower back, and there have been far too many times when I have been almost completely bedridden for days and weeks at a time.

100_6276

It is always such a blessing to be able to do simple chores again after a long bout of illness or disability.  When I start getting crabby about the seemingly endless dish washing in our home, I remind myself what a blessing it is just to be able to stand at the sink for a few minutes, and to have food to put on those dishes…that usually puts an end to the crabbiness!

The Blessing of Beauty in Creation ~

I’m so grateful that God created beauty.  It. Is. Everywhere.

100_5956

We are surrounded by it, and all this beauty is just one of the many ways in which He reveals Himself to us.

Finally, the blessing of beautiful sunsets, such a lovely way to end the day.

100_7309

Bless the Lord, O my soul, and forget not all His benefits!

 

 

