Tags

, , , ,

And Spring arose on the garden fair,
Like the Spirit of Love felt everywhere;
And each flower and herb on Earth’s dark breast
rose from the dreams of its wintry rest.

~ Percy Bysshe Shelley ~

Spring has arrived early here in the Gulf South, filling my garden with renewed life and vigor.

The Eastern bluebirds have been searching for a place to nest, and are a delightful sight to behold with their bright blue feathers and rust colored breasts.

100_1708

The only other blue in my garden to rival the beauty of the bluebird’s plumage is the bloom of the borage plant.  This herb’s lovely flowers are the bluest of blue, and it just makes me happy every time I see it.

100_2905

Richly colored snapdragons add beauty to a bed of kale,

100_5574

and dewdrops glisten on the buds and blossoms of the saucer magnolia.

100_8318

This magnolia was a Valentine’s gift from my husband many years ago and is always the first to bloom each year.

100_8317

Never yet was a springtime, when the buds forgot to bloom.

~ Margaret Elizabeth Sangster ~

There are petunias at the front door

100_0405

and in the back garden…

100_5570

while sweet little violas add beauty and color throughout the garden, as well.

100_2958

The sorbet variety with its rich, jewel toned colors is one of my favorites.

100_0700

The ‘salad’ containers of mixed lettuces and herbs are thriving,

100_6818

as well as the wheelbarrow planter,

100_8285

 and the azaleas have already started to bloom!

100_2293

The mustard greens are flourishing and I have been enjoying lots of lacinato kale which is in its second year.

100_8283

It has been so warm that the cape plumbago, which usually dies in the winter, is still alive and well.

100_8261

My garden is a haven which I enjoy for much of the year, and I agree wholeheartedly with the quote below from a well-known fellow gardener…

~ Ruth Stout ~

